Around Tappan Square

Alumni Council Welcomes New President and Thanks Volunteers

At the end of her two-year stint as Alumni Association president, Diane Kenty ’77 passed the gavel to Clyde Owan ’79, whose new title tops his ever-growing list of Oberlin-related volunteer posts. Owan, whose face is often shielded by his ever-present camera, has served on the Alumni Council’s trustee search and admissions advisory committees and as Council treasurer and chair of his class reunion gift committee.

The Arlington, Virginia, resident earned master’s degrees at Georgetown and the U.S. Naval War College. He embarked on a 20-year career with the U.S. government, most recently as a military analyst in the departments of Navy and Defense and as a deputy on the National Intelligence Council.

“It has been a pleasure to be of some service to Oberlin, especially in light of all that Oberlin has meant to my life,” Owan says of his new post. “I regret that I wasn’t a photographer for The Review. Since then, I’ve been toting along my cameras to make up for that youthful oversight.”

Honored Volunteers

Employing phrases such as “legendary volunteer” and “a one-person Alumni Association,” Kenty summarized Carl Gerber’s resume of Oberlin service. Gerber received the Association’s Distinguished Service Award in September, the first of 12 alumni honored at the Council’s fall dinner. Active in the Association since the 1960s, Gerber ’58 argued forcefully for alumni involvement in the student recruitment and admissions process. He served as president of the Alumni Association and later as class president, class agent, president of the DC club, chair of the awards committee, and on the executive board. His persistence with the student admissions idea paid off, having led to what is now the Alumni Recruiting Network involving hundreds of alumni across the country.

A Certificate of Appreciation was presented to Richard Harper ’53, administer of theWestchester County/ Southern Connecticut Oberlin Book Award Program. To raise the visibility of Oberlin among area students, he annually solicits gifts and volunteers to recognize high school juniors who demonstrate achievement in English or the humanities.

Marjorie Witt Johnson ’35, a believer in the unity of dance, music, and education, has epitomized the Oberlin ideal of service to community. She has worked as a modern dance choreographer, oral historian, social worker, art education advocate, community activist, and as a role model for African American youth. She, also, was honored with a Certificate of Appreciation.

A third certificate was awarded to Paul Treuhaft ’64, an active volunteer who served asclass president and class agent. A retired orthopedic surgeon, Treuhaft spent one week each year with students in Oberlin’s human biology course, lecturing on orthopedic disease and directing four lab sessions in which he performed knee surgery on a cow.

Ellen Bradburn ’90, known among her classmates for writing innovative and persuasive fundraising letters, was honored as the Class Agent of the Year. Bradburn served as a co-chair of her 10th reunion gift committee for the past two years, leading her classmates to surpass their fundraising goal by 30 percent.

Regional Coordinator of the Year Candace Ellman ’89 organized two successful events in Denver, bringing in Oberlin faculty speakers Lynne Rogers and Jane Armitage. Last year Ellman received the Admissions Recruiting Coordinator of the Year Award.

In only his second year as the coordinator of the Atlanta area, C. Shawn Jones ’89 was named Admissions Recruiting Coordinator of the Year. Also a member of the admissions advisory committee, Jones aided the Atlanta recruitment effort by attending college fairs, interviewing prospective students, and hosting a reception for admitted students.

The Class President of the Year Award was shared by dt ogilve ’70, Wendell P. Russell Jr. ’71, and William Peck ’72 for planning their 30th year cluster reunion last year, one of the largest in recent history.

Barbara Staley Bayless ’49 and Harold W. Peterson ’44 were recognized for completing their terms on the Alumni Council’s executive board.

back to top