Using the Archives Contact Us Search Site Index -
College Archives
Published Resources
Teaching Resources
Records Management
Outside Links
About the Archives
library links
Distinguished Community Service Award

"President Fuller, as chairman of the Honorary Degrees Committee, presented the Committee's recommendation that the Trustees establish a Distinguished Community Service Award to be conferred at Commencement Exercises upon persons from the Oberlin area who have made significant contributions to the welfare of the community and its residents. Nominations would normally be made by the General Faculty Honorary Degrees Committee through the Trustee Honorary Degrees Committee. Mr. Reid's MOTION that the Award be created as recommended CARRIED unanimously. It was understood that the award will probably not be conferred every year."

Trustee Minutes, November 13-14, 1970, p. 13.

"Mr. Stone presented a recommendation, MOVED and SECONDED by the Committee, that the Distinguished Community Service Award be changed to the Award for Distinguished Service to the Community. There was brief discussion after which the motion PASSED without dissent."

Trustee Minutes, March 16-17, 1984.

1971 Gladys Sellew
1972 Fred Lee Steen
1973 Alcines Clair Siddall
1974 Evan Walter Nord and Eric Thomas Nord
1975 Ella Thompson
1976 Robert Thomas
1977 Saul Robert Gilford
1979 Jeanne Beattie Butts
1980 Jeanne Hibbard Stephens and James Thomas Stephens
1981 Dorothy Wheeler Holbrook
1982 George Tallmon Jones
1983 Alexandra Podwalny '65
1984 James F. "Bill" Long
1986 Robert Walrath Tufts '40
1987 Arthur Henry "Kenney" Clark
1988 Margaret Reynolds Schauffler '18
1989 Jeanne Bay
1990 Dorothy Schwimmer Luciano
1991 Ann Fuller
1992 Anne Cartmell Elder '53 and John Dixon Elder '53
1993 Harvey Gittler
1994 Sigrid Boe
1995 Shirley R. Johnson
1996 Jane Baker Nord
1997 Robert K. "B.J." Jones
1998 Francine Toss '71
1999 Marian Hooper Baum
2000 Roy A. Church
2001 Katherine S. Plank
2002 Charlotte Owens Baker
2003 Ruby Nell Jones
2004 Delbert Dean Mason
2005 Harriet Ahmed Thomas
2006 Miriam L. Johnston Hallock
2007 Beverly Reep
2008 Jaquita Robinson Willis
2009 Reverends Mary and Steve Hammond
2010 Carol Longsworth
2011 James W. White
2012 Richard Dunn
Oberlin College Seal -