In 1890 or 1891 Oberlin Pharmacy opened here. For a hundred years, from 1890 until the early 1990s, this was the location of a corner drug store.
From 1894 to 1907 H.F. Smith was proprietor of Gem Pharmacy. This cabinet is from his shop. It displays instructions for the treatment of illness. On the outside illnesses are listed with numbers assigned to each.
Inside is a drawer for each number. Inside the drawer is a stack of cards listing the appropriate cure for the identified illness.