Interactive Map

(See the complete map here)

The geographical scope of the Commission's inquiry was vast, encompassing the entirety of the Ottoman Empire, but focusing on the non-Turkish regions of Syria, Palestine, Mesopotamia, Cilicia, and Armenia, which would almost certainly be separated from Turkey. However, given the urgency of the work in the context of the ongoing Paris Peace Conference, the Commissioners decided to limit their travel to Syria and Palestine. The Commission assembled in Constantinople, and then sailed to Jaffa, arriving on June 10, 1919. From there, the Commission visited both major urban centers and smaller villages across Palestine, Syria, and the southern region of Anatolia, including Jerusalem, Ramallah, Nablus, Damascus, Beirut, Tripoli, Homs, Aleppo, and Adana. Finally, the Commission sailed back to Constantinople on July 21, in order to deliberate and write their report.

Caveat: This map displays the Commission's itinerary, however, since not all documents and photographs in the collection can be linked with specific locations, it is not a comprehensive search tool. Many records are categorized at the level of countries or regions rather than individual cities.