Einstein and Relativity Classes

Oberlin College Physics 51

Spring 2021

This World Wide Web page written by Dan Styer, Oberlin College Department of Physics and Astronomy ;
http://www.oberlin.edu/physics/dstyer/Modern/Classes/classes.html;
last updated 4 March 2021.

Einstein and Relativity home page


Class 1 (Tuesday, 2 February 2021).
Introduction; Syllabus; The Paradox of the Mirror.
Relativity for the Questioning Mind, chapter 1.
(Recording.)

Class 2 (Thursday, 4 February 2021).
Experiments about Light.
Relativity for the Questioning Mind, chapters 2 & 3.
(Internet service at my home failed in the middle of this class. [My home is at the end of a service line, and any fault anywhere along the line affects me.] Here is the recording of what we did accomplish and here is a class summary.)

Class 3 (Tuesday, 9 February 2021).
Time Dilation.
Relativity for the Questioning Mind, chapter 4.
(Recording.)

Experimental tests of time dilation:

Lithium ion clocks in a particle accelerator

Atomic clock flight from London to Washington and back (words)

Atomic clock flight from London to Washington and back (video)

Class 4 (Thursday, 11 February 2021).
Length Contraction; Clock Synchronization.
Relativity for the Questioning Mind, chapters 5, 6 & 7.
(Recording.)

Class 5 (Tuesday, 16 February 2021).
The Case of the Hungry Traveler.
Relativity for the Questioning Mind, chapter 8.
(Recording.)

Class 6 (Thursday, 18 February 2021).
He Said, She Said.
Relativity for the Questioning Mind, chapter 9.
(Recording.)

Class 7 (Tuesday, 23 February 2021).
Speed Limits.
Relativity for the Questioning Mind, chapter 10.
(Recording.)

Class 8 (Thursday, 25 February 2021).
Speed Addition.
Relativity for the Questioning Mind, chapter 11.
(Recording.)

Class 9 (Tuesday, 2 March 2021).
Rigidity. Strength. The Twin Paradox.
Relativity for the Questioning Mind, chapters 12 & 13.
(Recording.)

Class 10 (Thursday, 4 March 2021).
The Pole-in-the-Barn Paradox. Prospectus Due.
Relativity for the Questioning Mind, chapter 14.
(Recording.)

Class 11 (Tuesday, 9 March 2021).
Puzzles and Paradoxes.
Relativity for the Questioning Mind, chapter 14.
(Recording.)

Class 12 (Thursday, 11 March 2021).
General Relativity.
Relativity for the Questioning Mind, chapters 17 & 18.
(Recording.)

Class 13 (Tuesday, 16 March 2021).
Curved Spacetime.
Relativity for the Questioning Mind, chapter 19.
(Recording.)

Final Exam (Thursday, 18 March 2021).

Project Due (Friday, 19 March 2021).