Strange World of Quantum Mechanics Classes

Oberlin College Physics 512

Spring 2021

This World Wide Web page written by Dan Styer, Oberlin College Department of Physics and Astronomy ;
http://www.oberlin.edu/physics/dstyer/Modern/Classes/classes.html;
last updated 13 April 2021.

Strange World of Quantum Mechanics home page


Class 1 (Thursday, 25 March 2021).
Introduction and Syllabus.
(Recording.)

Class 2 (On or before Tuesday, 30 March 2021).
Feynman on quantum mechanics (on your own).
The Strange World of Quantum Mechanics, chapter 1.

Class 3 (Thursday, 1 April 2021).
Classical magnetic needles (demonstrations).
The Strange World of Quantum Mechanics, chapter 2.
(Recording.)

Class 4 (Tuesday, 6 April 2021).
Conundrum of projections; Repeated measurements.
The Strange World of Quantum Mechanics, chapter 3 and chapter 4.
(Recording.)

Class 5 (Thursday, 8 April 2021).
Probability.
The Strange World of Quantum Mechanics, chapter 5.
(Recording.)

Class 6 (Tuesday, 13 April 2021).
Einstein-Pololsky-Rosen paradox.
The Strange World of Quantum Mechanics, chapter 6.
Essay on entanglement.
(Recording.)

Class 7 (Thursday, 15 April 2021).
Optical interference (demonstrations).
The Strange World of Quantum Mechanics, chapter 8.
(Recording.)

Class 8 (Tuesday, 20 April 2021).
Quantal interference.
The Strange World of Quantum Mechanics, chapter 9.
(Recording.)

Class 9 (Thursday, 22 April 2021).
Amplitudes.
The Strange World of Quantum Mechanics, chapter 10 and chapter 11.
(Recording.)

Class 10 (Tuesday, 27 April 2021).
Quantum mechanics of a bouncing ball.
The Strange World of Quantum Mechanics, chapter 14.
(Recording.)

Class 11 (Thursday, 29 April 2021).
History of quantum mechanics.
The Strange World of Quantum Mechanics, appendix A.
(Recording.)

Class 12 (Tuesday, 4 May 2021).
Summary.
(Recording.)