Statistical Mechanics Assignments

Oberlin College Physics 410

Spring 2019

This World Wide Web page written by Dan Styer, Oberlin College Department of Physics and Astronomy ;
http://www.oberlin.edu/physics/dstyer/StatMech/Assignments/assignments.html;
last updated 27 February 2019.

Statistical Mechanics home page

Technical note: To access the links marked (PDF) you must first download the free Adobe Acrobat Reader or Open Standard software.


Assignment 1 (due Friday, 8 February): Problems 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, and 1.5.

Model Solutions 1:

Assignment 2 (due Friday, 15 February): Problems 2.6, 2.8, 2.9, 2.11, and D.1. (Look at problems 2.4, 2.10, and D.2.)

Model Solutions 2:

Assignment 3 (due Friday, 22 February): Problems 2.12, 2.15, 2.23, 2.24, and 2.27. (Look at problems 2.16 through 2.21.)

Model Solutions 3:

Assignment 4 (due Friday, 1 March): Take home exam.

Assignment 5 (due Friday, 8 March): Problems 3.5, 3.19, 3.28, 3.30, and 3.32. (Look at problems 3.1, 3.2, 3.3, 3.4, 3.9, and 3.10.)

Model Solutions 5:

Assignment 6 (due Friday, 15 March): Problems 3.26, 3.33, 3.35, and 3.43. (Look at problems 3.44 through 3.46.)

Model Solutions 6:

Assignment 7 (due Friday, 22 March): Problems 4.3, 4.9, 4.10, and 4.13. (Look at problem 4.12.)

Model Solutions 7:

SPRING BREAK

Assignment 8 (due Friday, 5 April): Problems 4.6, 4.7, 5.6, and 5.7. (Look at problems 4.8 and 4.15.)

Model Solutions 8:

Assignment 9 (due Friday, 12 April): Oral exam. (The oral exam will concern the ideal paramagnet. I recommend that you review your solutions to problems 2.9 and 2.12. You may also want to examine these tips for oral exams (PDF).)

Assignment 10 (due Friday, 19 April): Problems 6.12 and 6.20. (Look at problems 6.11 and 6.13.)

Model Solutions 10:

Assignment 11 (due Friday, 26 April): Problems 6.22, 6.24, 7.4, and 7.5. (Look at problems 6.25 and 7.1.)

Model Solutions 11:

Assignment 12 (due Friday, 3 May): Problem 9.1.

Model Solutions 12: