Winning Personalities
This has been a championship season for Oberlin-trained musicians. Here is an update on recent accomplishments.

Vocal performance majors Alyson Cambridge (BA/BMus '02), Elizabeth DeShong '03, Liora Grodnikaite '02, and Michael Preacely, '01
Elizabeth DeShong '03

received top honors in May 2001 at the 2001 Opera Guild of Dayton (Ohio) Annual College Vocal Scholarship Competition. Grodnikaite won first prize; DeShong took second, and Cambridge and Preacely tied for third. Grodnikaite and Preacely are students of Professor of Singing Richard Miller. DeShong and Cambridge study with Professor of Singing Daune Mahy.

DeShong also won the grand prize (student division) in March at the Orpheus 2001 National Music Competition for Vocalists, at Middle Tennessee State University.

Preacely, a baritone, also won first prize in July 2001 at the Leontyne Price Vocal Arts National Competition in Las Vegas.

Soprano Jacqueline Enrique '01, pianists Youngha Guk '02 and Wei-Ya Lai '03, and violinists Therese Ritchie '01, Hee-Guen Song '01, and Sungmin Yoo '01 all won prizes this year in March 2001 from the Akron (Ohio) Tuesday Musical Club Scholarship Awards.

Enrique studied with Associate Professor of Voice Lorraine Manz, Guk studies with Associate Professor of Pianoforte Haewon Song, Lai studies with Professor of Piano Robert Shannon, Ritchie is a student of Professor of Violin Gregory Fulkerson, and Song and Yoo studied with former violin faculty members Almita and Roland Vamos.

In his second appearance at the Detroit International Jazz Festival, held September 2001, jazz trombone performance major Andy Hunter '02, a student of Robin Eubanks, Assistant Professor of Jazz Trombone, was recognized as the top college soloist and awarded a grant for continued study by the International Association of Jazz Educators.

Pianist Kairy Koshoeva, an artist diploma student of Professor of Pianoforte Monique Duphil, won first prize in August 2001 at the Sigma Alpha Iota International Concerto Competition, held at the Chautauqua (N.Y.) School of Music. Koshoeva also won third prize in April 2001 at the D'Angelo Young Artists Competition.

Pianist Emily Manzo '03, who studies with Professor of Pianoforte Lydia Frumkin, took first place (collegiate division) in March at the Murray State (Kentucky) University's Athena 2001 Competition. She placed second in February 2001 at the ninth annual Student Solo Performer Competi-tion sponsored by SUNY Potsdam's Crane School of Music as part of its Festival of New Music. At Crane she was the only undergraduate selected by a panel of judges that included composer Libby Larsen.

Harp performance major Yinuo Mu '02 in June 2001 won the Anne Adams Competition at the American Harp Society's (AHS) 14th National Competition held at the University of Maryland School of Music. Harp performance major Nuiko Wadden '02 tied for second place in the advanced division at the AHS National Competition (no first prize was awarded). Wadden also received the Prix Renie for the best performance of the Bach-Renie "Piece en Sol." Both are students of Assistant Professor of Harp Yolanda Kondonassis.

- Marci Janas '91

Go to page { 1 :: 2 :: 3 :: 4 :: 5 } of ACCOLADES